# 259 – Golden Globe Awards 2012

Before the nominations for Academy Awards are announced (January 24th) there is one important award show for movies and also TV-shows. Therefore it pretty much gives an idea where the bigger Oscars are going to go (it happened last year). But since I did not do a post about the Globes last year I decided to do one this year.

It will basically be just a list of those who are nominated and some of my ideas about who should get the award. Basically just a very subjective rant based on my own favorites. Although I have not seen all of the movies/TV-shows which is pretty much a problem but it has not stopped me before. So here are the nominations (not all of them – you can see the full list here) for the 69th Annual Golden Globe Awards.

Best Motion Picture – Drama

The Help (2011)

Hugo (2011/II)

Moneyball (2011)

War Horse (2011)

Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy

The Artist (2011)

Bridesmaids (2011)

50/50 (2011)

My Week with Marilyn (2011)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture – Drama

Brad Pitt for Moneyball (2011)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture – Drama

Viola Davis for The Help (2011)

Tilda Swinton for We Need to Talk About Kevin (2011)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy

Owen Wilson for Midnight in Paris (2011)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy

Jodie Foster for Carnage (2011)

Kate Winslet for Carnage (2011)

Best Director – Motion Picture

Martin Scorsese for Hugo (2011/II)

Best Screenplay – Motion Picture

Moneyball (2011): Steven Zaillian, Aaron Sorkin, Stan Chervin

Best Television Series – Drama

“Boss” (2011)

“Homeland” (2011)

Best Television Series – Musical or Comedy

“Glee” (2009)

“New Girl” (2011)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series – Musical or Comedy

Thomas Jane for “Hung” (2009)

Matt LeBlanc for “Episodes” (2011)

As you can see, I left out a lot of the categories cause I thought it would be pointless to have the full list in my blog. But that put aside, I am thrilled that Johnny Galecki is finally nominated for a Golden Globe for his character in The Big Bang Theory. I am quite sure, that Big Bang is the best comedy out there at the moment – next to the new comer New Girl. Zooey Deschanel got a nomination for her role in the New Girl as well as the show itself. I bet they get at least one of the Globes.

George Clooney in The Descendants

As far as the movies go, there are a lot of big names this year – Scorsese, Spielberg and Clooney. And if we are already talking about Clooney, why not mention that he has had a very good year – The Descendants and The Ides of March are both nominated accordingly for 5 and 4 Golden Globes! Although I am surprised that Drive got only one nomination (for a supporting role) but I am happy that despite that Ryan Gosling got TWO nominations for best actor in both drama and musical/comedy category (The Ides of March and Crazy, Stupid, Love).

Ryan Gosling in Crazy, Stupid, Love

Everybody are talking about The Artist going for the Academy Award for best movie so there is no reason why it should not win the Golden Globe for best movie in musical/comedy category. I am really hoping that Bridesmaids does not take the win from it, although I would not mind if 50/50 would be the best out of them all. With that category I am all out of ideas which is sad cause I have many more about the drama movies this year. I mean, I have seen only two but it seems like a pretty tough competition between all of them. I am a little bit surprised that The Help is in the drama slot – I was certain it was something between a dramatic comedy. It did have the very comedic character portrayed by Jessica Chastain (most memorable for me personally). Anyway, my stupidity aside, The Help has 5 nominations – out of which two are both for the supporting actress.

Jessica Chastain and Octavia Spencer in The Help

I am quite sure that it will get at least one but I am thinking that when it comes to the best drama movie of the year The Descendants and The Ides of March would be the bigger names this year – just because I like George Clooney a lot at the moment (had an Ocean’s marathon). Though I have a slight suspicion that one of the bigger names will get it instead – Hugo or War Horse. But who knows, maybe Moneyball is the best of them all and will win big. Either way I am grossing my fingers for Clooney and Gosling and a little bit for American Horror Story for going for the best television series – drama.

Until the winners are announced, there is lots of other posts to look forward to, maybe even some among these lists (I know there are three at least). And then, after not such a long wait,  the winners are announced on January 15th, there will be another post about the results which hopefully will make Clooney happy.

1 thought on “# 259 – Golden Globe Awards 2012”

Leave a Reply

