My day off and it looks like it will rain a lot today… not complaining though, because I have literally nothing planned except dying my hair and reading. So, take that rain!

LIFE

The last week of July was rather unproductive, I only worked and did almost nothing else. I didn’t even manage to squeeze in a fifth book for my reading challenge for the month of July – super disappointed at myself. And in case you’re wondering, yes, my eyes are still pretty bad, and this third course of treatment doesn’t seem to help at all – but no worries, I’m totally loving this puffy eye look with no make-up and sporting it around every day….

On a more happier note, I have 6 days of work left before my 2-week vacation!! Dear lord, I need a vacation like now, but luckily there’s not a lot left before I can put my legs up and read all day. And that’s literally what I have planned, reading – god, I’m so boring!

MOVIES

Suicide Squad is almost here!! And through some cosmic luck, I’m seeing it tomorrow! I’m sure I’ll love it, I’m not expecting anything else. I like how movie theaters have opening opening nights for these big movies, because then big movie fans like me and others, can watch it among an awesome audience.

Watched John Wick the other day, which was quite okay, the dog killing was not. I also rewatched Fired Up because why not, right? It’s such a stupid movie, but I like how the movie is making fun of itself and it’s just, I don’t know, light and funny. Which is clearly what I needed, because the day after, I also watched Bring It On.

TELEVISION

GILMORE GIRLS HAS A TRAILER!!! NOVEMBER CAN’T HAPPEN FAST ENOUGH!

Still watching Nashville – I know, I’m so country now! Also, caught up with Baby Daddy, which is still one of my favorites. Then, I need to catch up to Outcast and Preacher! Then, I need to watch Stranger Things. Then I heard about this mini series The Night Of and it sounds awesome, so I need to watch that one as well. Bye-bye social life!

Did you hear? The Vampire Diaries is going to have its final season and all I can say is, about time! Now, that leaves Supernatural because seriously guys, how long can they keep going? Besides, that show needs fresh blood, I have nothing against Padalecki, Ackles and Colins, but this format is getting a little tiresome after 10 years and I’m not even watching the show anymore! But also, Teen Wolf is getting its last season as well and even though I haven’t watched it in years, I’m a little sad, that show brought us Dylan O’Brien and I can’t deny the fact that he is still my favorite in a way.

BOOKS & MUSIC

HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD! Omg, I just, I had to get that out because it was necessary. I’ve picked up my copy but I have not read it yet. I’m going to re-read all the 7 books before picking up The Cursed Child – I’m already reading the first one. And I’m reading the series in English this time, so I’m actually discovering new things – for instance, I did not know Hagrid had such a strong accent! They sort of muted that in the Estonian translation but hey that’s the fun of it all and it’s like reading the series for the first time.

Finally finished American Gods and alright, I can see it. I can see the appeal, and I know the series will be amazing, but as a book, was not the biggest fan. So I won’t call this my favorite book, but I still liked it. I think I’m, in general, not fond of round trip formulas, but that’s not to say I don’t like it on screen. My taste in books and my taste in TV shows is a little different, so I have high hopes for its screen adaptation for being my favorite.

Something about rainy days that just demands for a blue song.. so here’s Halsey – Colors which has been on my playlist for quite some time now.

LINKS

On The Screen Reviews talks about the wonderful Stranger Things

Louder Than Bombs by My Filmviews

Dan the Man’s take on Tallulah

Ramgling Film with another indie gem: Passenger Side

Oh So Geeky shares her thoughts on the TWD Season 7 trailer

Big City Bookworm also talks about Stranger Things

6 responses to “Commercial Break #49”

  1. The reviews for Suicide Squad are starting to pour in……………..and they’re negative. Part of me isn’t surprised, because I expected some of these complaints from critics. But, boy, am I disappointed. I’m seeing it tonight, and I’ll have a review by Friday :\

    Thanks for the link!!

    1. What? Nooo.. I haven’t heard anything yet, and I’m keeping myself away from reviews before I see the movies myself so I’m usually completely unaware of what others have said.. Hearing this makes me scared now.. I hope I enjoy it though, I really hope.

      Going to see it tomorrow night, so my review will be up also around this week.

  2. Im willing to give suicide squad the benefitr of the doubt despite the bad reviews it got. I started to read American Gods but became so uninterested in the characters I never finished it.

    1. I’m definitely giving it a chance, and I hope I will enjoy at least parts of it.

      And you know what, I did that same thing the first time I picked it up, I put it down for like a year or so, but then I picked it up again and literally pushed through at some point. Like, I read another book while being half way done with AG, and then felt like I was ready to finish it. It’s certainly a lot slower and calmer than I expected, but I’m sure that will translate to screen a lot better for me.

  3. Hope you enjoy re-reading Harry Potter! I thought about doing that but I’m a pretty slow reader. I decided re-read the Deathly Hallows epilogue before diving into the play. It’s definitely a fun experience. Hope you can check out my review when you get to the play; love to know what you think. 🙂

    1. I will definitely try to remember and check out the play when I’m finally finished 7 books.. currently on the 4th.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com